Skip to main content

Grief: The Grieving Process

Grief is a journey. The grieving process involves several phases that are experienced by each of us in our own way and in our own time.

There is no right or wrong way to experience your grief. It is important to be gentle with
yourself as you navigate this experience and the feelings that come with it. You will find the path that moves you from heartache to hope in your own time.

Most of us initially respond to a sudden death with shock and disbelief. We just cannot believe what has happened. This leads to a period of denial because we do not want to believe the person is gone. As we slowly begin to accept the reality of the death, we often feel confused. This confusion is made up of many feelings that seem to fight with one another. 

In recognizing our feelings and expressing them we can begin to feel better. Dealing with our feelings helps us learn more about the meaning of our relationship with our loved one and the impact of their loss on our life. It is in this process that healing begins. With this healing comes a sense that life is beginning to feel normal again. The following are common responses and feelings you may experience as you grieve for your loved one:  

  • Shock and Disbelief
  • Denial
  • Confusion
  • Fear
  • Anger
  • Guilt
  • Emptiness and Loneliness
  • Depression

Please be gentle with yourself as you explore this new world of living without your loved one. 

More About Grief

What is Grief? 

Five Tips for Coping with Grief

Supporting Someone Who Is Grieving 

Helping Children Navigate Death and Loss